DIDYMOS – sustainably produced baby slings in 100 percent natural fibres

The idea for this business originated from a young mother’s quest for a solution for carrying her own twins. An article in a major glossy magazine in 1972 made the young mother and her innovative baby slings famous all over Germany: Didymos, meaning “twins” in Greek.

The initial idea has now become a ­family-run business which today employs 16 women in Ludwigsburg: as European market leader, Didymos Erika ­Hoffmann ­GmbH supplies baby carriers all over the world.

The extensive Didymos range includes baby slings in a wide selection of patterns, sizes and material mixes. They are exported all over the world, with orders even being taken from Latin America where the baby sling originated. Although sales are mainly conducted via the Internet, personal advice over the phone is still popular.

Quality is focused on in particular. Slings are shaped like parallelograms and must be elastic on the diagonal and stable on the cross. At DIDYMOS great importance is attached to the weaving technique and choice of yarns. ­Details like double seams characterise a high quality baby sling. The range has now been extended to include the DidyTai, a readymade sling.

Only cotton from controlled ecological cultivation is used, the pure wool comes from ecologically raised livestock. The materials are produced in spinning mills, dyeworks and weavers in Southern ­Germany and neighbouring European countries. The entire manufacturing process is conducted according to European ecological and social compatibility standards. ­Didymos’ commitment has meanwhile won it the Environmental Prize awarded by the state of Baden-Wuerttemberg. The carrying method used here is also recommended by many paediatricians and orthopaedists. Orthopaedists consider the flexible, adjustable straddled sitting position when the sling is worn on the hip, as advantageous for the maturation of the hip joint, while psychologists emphasize the value of the intimate mother-child bond.

This simple idea has thus brought forth practical products with far-reaching ­benefits.

didymos wellen granat quer

didymos familie

Company founder Erika Hoffmann with her daughters Anna and Tina Hoffmann

didymos 1972

1972 Erika Hoffmann with twin daughter Lisa


 

www.didymos.de

download .pdf (289 KB)

DIDYMOS – nachhaltig produzierte Tragehilfen aus 100 Prozent Naturtextilien

Dass aus der Suche nach einer Lösung für das Tragen der eigenen Zwillinge ein Geschäft geworden ist, war eher Zufall. Ein Artikel in einer großen Illustrierten ­im Jahr 1972 machte die junge Mutter mit ihren innovativen Tragetüchern in ganz Deutschland bekannt: Didymos, das ­griechische Wort für Zwilling.

Inzwischen ist aus der ersten Idee ein ­Familienbetrieb geworden, der heute in Ludwigsburg sechzehn Mitarbeiterinnen beschäftigt: Als europäischer Marktführer ­liefert die Didymos Erika ­Hoffmann ­GmbH Babytragetücher in alle Welt.

Im umfangreichen Sortiment von ­Didymos gibt es Tragetücher in unter­schiedlichsten Mustern, Größen und Materialzusammen­setzungen. Sie werden in alle Welt exportiert, Bestellungen kommen selbst aus Lateinamerika, der eigentlichen Ursprungsregion. Der Vertrieb läuft zum Großteil über das Internet, aber auch die persönliche Beratung am Telefon ist nach wie vor gefragt.

Auf Qualität wird besonders geachtet. In der Diagonalen elastisch und in der Quere stabil muss das wie ein Parallelo­gramm geformte Tuch sein. Die Webtechnik und die Auswahl der Garne spielen eine wesentliche Rolle bei Didymos. ­Details wie die doppelt gesäumten Kanten kennzeichnen ein qualitativ hochwertiges ­Babytragetuch. Inzwischen wurde das Sortiment um den DidyTai, eine Fertig­tragehilfe, erweitert.

Die verwendete Baumwolle stammt aus kontrolliert biologischem Anbau, die Schurwolle aus kontrolliert biologischer Tierhaltung. Produziert wird in Spinnereien, Färbereien und Webereien in Süddeutschland und im benachbarten Ausland nach europäischen ökologischen Standards und unter Berücksichtigung der Sozialverträglichkeit im gesamten Herstellungsprozess. Damit hat ­Didymos in­zwischen auch den Umweltpreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg gewonnen. Die heute propagierte Tragemethode wird zusätzlich von vielen Kinderärzten und Orthopäden empfohlen. Orthopäden halten den flexibel regulierbaren Spreizsitz, den ein auf der Hüfte getragenes Tuch ermöglicht, für die Ausreifung des Hüftgelenks für vorteilhaft; Psychologen betonen den Wert der engen Mutter-Kind-Bindung.

So sind aus einer einfachen Idee sinnvolle Produkte mit weittragendem Nutzen entstanden.

didymos wellen granat quer

didymos familie

Firmengründerin Erika Hoffmann mit ihren Töchtern Anna und Tina Hoffmann

didymos 1972

1972 Erika Hoffmann mit Zwillingstochter Lisa


 

www.didymos.de

download .pdf (287 KB)